Madonna: MDNA – Live in Paris

After a whirlwind mini-tour with Madonna on her MDNA Tour, I have returned home with a bump.  I’m still on a high from my three shows, and my two close encounters with the queen of pop.  I managed to get into the Golden Triangle (a small area built into the stage) twice, and twice managed to get a high-five from Madonna herself during one of the final songs of the show, Like A Prayer.  There are videos floating around on YouTube showing myself and my friends dancing away like lunatics, which I’m sure will be posted in due course.

Eight days ago, Madonna announced a second show in Paris which will take place in a matter of hours. This time though, it will be a ‘For One Night Only’ style show, which everyone I know is speculating about.  My guess is it will be a full show, mainly aimed at promoting her new MDNA album, but with a few twists.  The Olympia in Paris is a tiny venue in comparison to the Stade de France, where she played to a sold out crowd on 14th July.

During the sound checks for the shows so far, she has been witnessed rehearsing fan favourites such as Love Spent (which sadly isn’t in the main show).  On Tuesday I saw my third and final show in Dublin, and whilst me and two of my friends stood outside the stadium queuing, we heard her rehearse Beautiful Killer mixed with Die Another Day.  I had heard the rumour of this being rehearsed when the tour crew returned to London, the day after the Edinburgh show to rehearse for the intimate Paris show.  I couldn’t quite believe my ears when the music started – the mix of these two songs is sheer perfection and should most definitely have been worked into the show.  So I’m saying a little prayer that it will indeed be included in tonight’s show.  Other rumoured tracks to be included in the show are Love Spent, La Isla Bonita, Superstar (sung with her daughter Lourdes), Hollywood, Give It 2 Me and Beautiful Killer/Die Another Day.

At 9:15pm GMT we will find out.  The show will be streamed live online for those who weren’t fortunate enough to get tickets for the spur-of-the-moment show.  Go to the LoveLive YouTube channel to watch the show.

Leave a comment