structure – part twelve

I spend far too much time inside my own head; evaluating, questioning and generally dissuading myself from doing something.  There are few places that make me escape and feel free from my own thoughts – the main one being London. Wandering the streets on my own amongst the maddening crowds is a sure-fire way to help me lose my thoughts, distracting me from myself.

A feeling of self-abandonment can be a good thing, especially when you’re an over-thinker like myself.  Being lost among the throngs of a busier, more hectic life than my own is the best distraction.  The second best for me would be photography.  Put the two together and it’s damn near perfect.  These photos were taken over the course of a couple of visits to the big smoke.

The first is a building that backs onto The Hampshire Hotel in Leicester Square, the second was taken down a back street somewhere near Oxford Street, and the third photo is one of the National Theatre, on Southbank.  I love London for so many reasons, the main one being the sheer diversity in its architecture.  On these occasions I was attracted to the simplicity of Brutalist and Victoriana structures.

victoriana

cornered  brutal symmetry

Leave a comment