photo challenge (1/30) – self-portrait

The world we live in is vastly different to the one I knew as a child. Back in the 1980’s there was no such thing as a ‘selfie’, and even if there was, the photo quality was so poor that you’d never admit to it.

Nowadays, you can’t log on to Facebook, Twitter or Instagram (or any other form of social media) without being swamped by god-awful photos of people you know, all of which were most likely taken in a drunken state. And people are actually proud of these images. They make me shudder. There are few that are actually worth looking at, most of which are taken by vanity-driven men at the gym (and I don’t necessarily have an issue with that).

This is my first photo submission in a 30 day photo challenge I’ve taken on. Day one is self(ie)-portrait. And I honestly do like this one.

20140301-095411.jpg

3 thoughts on “photo challenge (1/30) – self-portrait

  1. iamamro says:

    I think it’s great. Very nicely done and not a boring look into the camera, pouting, type selfie that one sees mostly these days.

Leave a comment